love your city


flew
February 12, 2010, 08:52
Filed under: floetry

part 3 of saul williams loveliness.

DON’T FORGET THE FLUTE!

Mile Davis played the trumpet
but I only play the flute.

He played with Bird and Dizzy
but I only play the flute.

Coltrane, Fats Navarro
but I only play the flute.

Cool Jazz, Be Bop, Fusion
Miles Davis at the root.

One day
I’ll lift my flute
above my brothers
drum machine

and make
a different music
that you’ve only heard
in dreams.

And when the Jazz greats
look from heaven
this is what I’ll say:

“Don’t Forget The Flute!
Because the flute shall pave the way!”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

